Chapter Rewind: 2016 Board Inductions & Award Recognition

Chapter Rewind | By: Gabriel Soltren

The 2016 - 2017 Board of Directors at the Installation Breakfast. Photo Credit: Chris Gent, APR, CPRC

The 2016 – 2017 Board of Directors at the Installation Breakfast. Photo Credit: Chris Gent, APR, CPRC

Laura Kern
Laura Kern, APR gave a recap of the previous board year and thanked outgoing members for their service.

Remember the television show “Miami Vice” and the University of Florida “The Gator Nation” public relations campaign?


Joe Hice, APR, CPRC, Chief Marketing Officer & Senior Vice President, Enterprise Florida. Photo Credit: Chris Gent, APR, CPRC

Joe Hice, APR, CPRC, provided the Wellcraft speed boats used on the TV show and as former University of Florida associate vice president for marketing and public relations, he developed the PR campaign to make the university more visible.

Joe Hice, APR, CPRC, chief marketing officer & senior vice president at Enterprise Florida recommended taking daily action on the most important and creative things first. Check your email later. Hice provided leadership advice from his 31 years as a professional with an Accreditation in Public Relations (APR). His suggestions included communicating your mission verbally, in writings, in drawings and in any way possible. “Try to leave a legacy,” he said. He advised members to speak about their mission every day to get buy-in from others.

Member of the Year

Heather Smith, APR

Congratulations to Heather Smith, APR with the Seminole County Sheriff’s Office, who was honored as our Member of the Year. This award recognizes one member who has made a significant contribution to the chapter through leadership, enthusiasm, involvement and support.


Bob Davis Award

Congratulations to Lauren George, APR winner of the Bob Davis Award. This award is presented to someone for their “behind the scenes” volunteer efforts. It is named in honor of the late Dr. Bob Davis, former UCF professor and mentor.

Alayna Curry--2016


Alayna Curry, APR
Central Florida Expressway Authority

FPRA state president Terri Behling, APR, CPRC presided over the induction ceremony for new FPRA Orlando president Alayna Curry, APR and the 2016-2017 Board of Directors.

Click here for photographs from the 2016 – 2017 Board Installation breakfast.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: