Member PRofile: Mark Schlueb

Mark Schlueb

Mark Schlueb
Sr. Communications Coordinator
University of Central Florida

Give a brief explanation of your job. 
I’m lucky enough to be part of UCF’s News & Information team, a group of pros much smarter than me who I learn from every day. I love working at UCF — it’s such a dynamic place that there’s always something going on. I write stories about cool faculty, from archaeologists to nanoscientists, and students who are so accomplished they make me feel like a slacker when I think back to my own college days. Our team pitches our stories to local and national media, and we handle a huge volume of inquiries from reporters, too.

How long have you been a part of FPRA?
I joined FPRA in 2015 because that’s when I left my longtime job as a newspaper reporter for a career in public relations, and I knew I had a lot to learn. There’s a wealth of knowledge among FPRA’s membership that enables newbies like me to learn from people with decades of experience.

Why did you join?
I joined FPRA in 2015 because that’s when I left my longtime job as a newspaper reporter for a career in public relations, and I knew I had a lot to learn. There’s a wealth of knowledge among FPRA’s membership that enables newbies like me to learn from people with decades of experience.

Favorite FPRA event:
I’ve enjoyed every FPRA event I’ve attended, from the media mashups with PRSA to presentations by PR pros from around Florida. But so far, the 2016 state convention was the most valuable. With sessions on everything from crisis communication to video production to social media, there was plenty to learn. The happy hours weren’t bad, either.

Tell us about an exciting achievement.
I married my best friend and have raised two awesome sons. Also, mayors of two cities have proclaimed “Mark Schlueb Days.” Totally undeserved, but feel free to celebrate.

What was your first job?
My first job was at a Taco Bell in my hometown of Titusville. I saved enough money to buy a beat up Mustang and can still roll a perfect burrito with my eyes closed.

Tell us something people may not know about you.
When people learn I’m the youngest of 10 children, they always ask, “What was it like growing up with nine brothers and sisters?” Loud. It was really loud.

Contact Information:
mschlueb@gmail.com, 407-823-0221 or @MarkSchlueb

 

Leave a Reply

