Member PRofile: Jennifer Cook

Jennifer Cook
WUCF TV
Director of Communications, Education & Engagement

Give a brief explanation of your job. 
I manage all internal and external communications, including WUCF TV’s print and electronic newsletters, press releases, on-air promotion, web site and social media. I manage promotional production and campaigns along with station education initiatives and community engagement events. I also do work on the national PBS level as a member of the PBS Communications Advisory Council, the PBS Brand Council & the PBS Digital Advisory Council.

How long have you been a part of FPRA? Why did you join? #myFPRA
I have been in FPRA for two years. I have previously worked in media relations before a long career in the Orlando news world. Moving over to more of a PR role was a bit of a change, so I really wanted to reinforce my skills and expand my support system with the wonderful people at FPRA. While in news, I was often invited to Media Mashup, and I have always enjoyed those experiences with such a great group.

What was your favorite FPRA event?
Media Mashup – for me it’s like a reunion with lots of old friends in the news world along with all my new friends in the PR world!

Tell us about an exciting achievement.
I have the best of both worlds. WUCF is a university licensed PBS station. Therefore, I am a UCF employee and have access to a wide variety of experts, research and visionaries. But as a PBS station, I also have access to PBS stations and resources from across the country. I’m proud that in just over two years at WUCF, I have been appointed or elected to three different national boards within PBS. Now, I get to have a voice at the table where decisions are made that will impact the entire system of stations.

What was your first job?
My first job was working at my high school television station. I helped organize the school’s audio/visual gear and helped teachers produce video content for them to use in the classroom. I got paid $10/hour and that was in the early 90s. I thought I was a rockstar.

Tell us something people may not know about you.
Most people know that I am a pop culture junkie and Disney addict. But what most people don’t know is that I am also a member of the Orlando Curling Club. Yes, we curl in Orlando and it’s awesome. Perhaps one day you’ll see me in the Olympics.

Contact Information:
jennifer.cook@wucftv.org

Leave a Reply

