Quotes Corner

Randi Rioux
Quotes, the PR Club at UCF

The New Kid in Town

I remember the jittery feeling I had moving from a small suburban town to this massive, fast paced city. I felt completely out of my comfort zone, yet at the same time, I was beyond excited. I jumped right into my classes, got a part time job at the happiest place on earth, and quickly settled into this new life I made. However, as my senior year of my undergrad is fast approaching, I can’t help but still feel a little new.

When I moved to Orlando, I started my journey at Valencia College where I earned my associate’s degree in Fine and Studio Art. I was extremely proud of this accomplishment considering since I was a kid, all I ever wanted to do was draw. I always imagined becoming an illustrator for a production company or a book publishing studio. I was feeling on top of the world the day I got handed my first degree, but then something very interesting happened that I believe changed the way I looked at the path I was so set to walk on.

I received an acceptance letter from the University of Central Florida just days before Christmas of 2015, with it, a pamphlet about a few programs that would best suit me- one of which came from the Nicholson School of Communication. I scanned through the pages and quickly became interested in the Advertising and Public Relations program. That same week, I toured the school and the rest is history. I applied to the program and was accepted the night before my birthday- needless to say, there was a lot to celebrate! However, my journey didn’t end there.

Sitting in my first Advertising and Public Relations classes, I couldn’t help but feel like a total fish out of water. From the conversations I heard, nearly everyone around me had been set on this amazing program; I just got in! I felt like I had a ton of catching up to do! I needed to figure out ways to get more involved so I could immerse myself and learn even more. I was quick to join Quotes soon after, which was one of the best decisions I made. Quotes helped me find solid ground in this new program I was in. Everyone at the first meeting was so kind and helpful. I remember feeling like I could breathe easy because a lot of students shared the same experiences with me and walked on all different kinds of paths to get here; for the first time that semester, I didn’t feel alone.

As the months went on, I made some vital connections and attended some amazing events all thanks to Quotes. As Spring came to a close, I got invited to the final board meeting and was asked to become the graphic designer. I was nervous but beyond honored to accept. My classmates and colleagues have some incredible experience and I can only hope to meet their expectations for the upcoming fall semester. Though I’ve only been in the program for one semester, it feels like I’ve been there much longer. A year ago, I would have never thought I’d be sitting here writing a blog post about the time I took a leap of faith to change the path I was walking on and be so happy I did. I still feel like I have a lot to learn, but I’ve never been so eager and ready to do so.

Leave a Reply

