Apply to Win Scholarship to FPRA Annual Conference

June 10, 2011

Apply to win one of three scholarships to this year’s Annual Conference, The Evolution of PR, at the Naples Grand Beach Resort, which will be held Sunday, August 7 through Wednesday, August 10.

The following scholarship opportunities are available:

1. Orlando Area Chapter Scholarships
The Orlando Area Chapter of FPRA will award up two scholarships to local chapter members.  Each scholarship will cover the conference registration fee of $595.  To apply, please respond to the questions below and email your responses to Wendy Jo Moyer, APR, at by Thursday, June 30.  Please limit your answers to 50 words or less and be sure to include all information outlined below.

  • Name:
  • Company:
  • Title:
  • Years in public relations:
  • How long have you been a member of FPRA?
  • In what ways have you been involved with FPRA? (Committees, events attended, positions held, etc.)
  • How will the conference scholarship benefit your career and current job?
  • What do you hope to learn by attending conference, and how do you intend to incorporate it in your daily position?
To be eligible you must be an active member in good standing with the Orlando Area Chapter.  Your chapter involvement and financial need will be considered.  Please note that the scholarship covers the $595 conference registration fee and excludes lodging, food outside of meals included in the regular conference registration, scholarship fundraiser and all other related expenses.  All scholarship winners will be required to participate on the conference blogging team and to write a short article for PRoclaimer discussing what they learned and how it enhances their profession.

2. Florida Public Relations Education Foundation Scholarship
The Florida Public Relations Education Foundation is also offering a statewide scholarship to one member.  To apply, complete complete the form at this link and mail it to the state office by Friday, June 20.

40 Sarasota Center Blvd., Suite 107
Sarasota, FL 34240

Please note that the scholarship covers the $595 conference registration fee and excludes lodging, food outside of meals included in the regular conference registration, scholarship fundraiser and all other related expenses.

Click Here  to download the scholarship form. To learn more about conference, visit

Percolating PR – Annual Networking and Recognition Event

June 8, 2011

Please join the Orlando Area Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association on Thursday, August 26 for a coffee and breakfast networking event with incoming FPRA State President, Jennifer Moss, APR, CPRC, and your industry peers as we celebrate a successful year of professional development and nearly 55 years of enhancing the profession in Orlando.

In addition to industry networking, we will recognize our chapter’s leaders and induct our 2010-2011 board of directors.

Join Us – Thursday, August 26
University Club, 150 E. Central Blvd., Orlando
Pricing: $15 members, $20 non-members, $10 students

Registration, Networking and Buffet Breakfast: 8 a.m.
Awards and Board Induction: 8:30 a.m.

About Jennifer Moss, APR, CPRC
Jennifer Moss is the communications director for the Silverstein Institute and the executive director for the Institute’s non-profit Ear Research Foundation, where she is responsible for the public relations, marketing and communications for the entire Institute, as well as the daily operations of the Foundation.

Strong Participation from APR Community Makes Program and Workshops a Success

June 8, 2011

The 2011 Spring APR Workshop Sessions were an amazing success thanks to support from our APR community and our partnership with PRSA. Each of the 9-week sessions featured a guest APR who presented information to the candidates and answered questions to help prepare them for both the Readiness Review and computer-based exam.

Thanks to the following presenters, our workshops were a tremendous success: Lorie Matejowski, APR, Heather Morgan, APR, Dan Ward, APR, Michelle Edwards, APR, Allen Moore, APR, Lisa Lochridge, APR and Pete Scott, APR.

Because there were so many candidates who attended the sessions this spring, we needed help from 21 APRs in our community to serve on Readiness Review panels. Special thanks to:

  1. Wendy Jo Moyer , APR
  2. Jessi Blakely, APR
  3. Chris Gent, APR
  4. Mandy Taylor, APR
  5. Lorelie Johnson, APR
  6. Bob O’Malley, APR
  7. Steve Triggs, APR
  8. Jackie Benton, APR
  9. Carolyn Reis, APR
  10. Sheridan Becht, APR, CPRC
  11. Lisa Nason, APR
  12. Roy Reid, APR, CPRC
  13. Susan Howard, APR
  14. Lesley McMillen, APR
  15. Mandy Kimmer, APR
  16. Kelly King, APR
  17. Laura Richeson, APR
  18. Kari Conely, APR
  19. Susan Ennis, APR
  20. Doreen Overstreet, APR
  21. Ann Marie Varga, APR

Member News

June 8, 2011

George Washington University’s Graduate School of Political Management has named Chris Gent, of Kissimmee Utility Authority, the school’s valedictorian. Chris earned his Master’s Degree in Strategic Public Relations.

Congrats Chris!

Also: Congrats to Ryan Sheehy, APR, who earned her accreditation in May!