Mitch English of ‘The Daily Buzz’ to Host 2011 Image Awards Gala

March 15, 2011

The hard part is over. You’ve submitted your Image Awards entries, and now you’re ready to have some fun.

Join the FPRA Orlando Area Chapter on Thursday, April 28, as we celebrate our craft and colleagues with the 2011 Image Awards Gala, PR Under the Big Top. Mitch English, host of television’s “The Daily Buzz,” will serve as “ringmaster” of ceremonies and help us honor all of our award winners as well as the 2011 PR Professional of the Year.

This can’t-miss event is happening at the Winter Park Farmers’ Market, located at 200 West New England Avenue in Winter Park. The reception begins at 6 p.m., and dinner and the awards presentation start at 7 p.m. Tickets will be available shortly at

Prices are: $50 for FPRA and PRSA members, $60 for non-members, $30 for FPRA student members, and $35 for student non-members.  Corporate tables of eight are also available for $375.

To purchase a corporate table, or to learn more about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Amy Hanigosky at 407.649.8101 or You may also contact Kendall Litton Jensen at 407.708.2286 or

Bud Brewer Announces Retirement

March 15, 2011

Bud Brewer, vice president of Massey Communications, said he will retire next year. “I will remain engaged with both Massey Services and Massey Communications, as well as with several clients of the agency, whenever they need me,” he said.

2011 Golden Image Awards – Grande Expectations

March 15, 2011

Click here for the Call for Entries for the 2011 Golden Image Awards.

Promote Your Services

March 15, 2011

If you’re a freelancer, or work for, or own an agency … you can now advertise your PR services on the new FPRA Public Service Directory, found on the home page. The cost to be in this directory for one full year (12 months) is only $25.

Once this Directory is populated, this Directory will be prominently displayed on the FPRA homepage, accessible to the public. What is NOT accessible to the public is this offer. Only FPRA members can list their services in this Directory.

To take advantage of this member-only benefit, click here to get started.


Member Photo Upload

March 15, 2011

All members can now upload a photo of themselves to correspond with their contact information in the FPRA Directory on the state website. To do so, simply log into the FPRA site and then go to the “Active Members” page. There, in the right-hand column, you will find an option to: Upload Member Photo. Click this button and then follow the steps to upload your photo. Once your photo has been uploaded, it will appear in the right-hand column of your “Active Members” page, as well as in the directory.

Call for Nominations: Central Florida 2011 PR Professional of the Year

March 15, 2011




It’s time to nominate candidates for the 2011 Central Florida Public Relations Professional of the Year for Career Excellence — the highest individual award given out each year by the Orlando Area Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association.

The award is considered to be a lifetime achievement award and is presented to a public relations practitioner whose accomplishments have made a major contribution to the profession. The winner will be honored at the FPRA Image Awards Gala on Thursday, April 28, when we will gather to celebrate the very best of PR in Central Florida.

Nominations may be made by any PR practitioner in Central Florida and nominees do not need to be members of FPRA.

Nominations must include the following information and be no longer than two pages:

  • Person’s Name
  • Title
  • Company
  • Professional Background
  • Career Highlights
  • PR Community Involvement/Leadership

Nominations for the 2011 award should be submitted via e-mail to Immediate Past President Mandy Taylor, APR, ( by close of business on Friday, March 18.

Nominations will be submitted to the previous winners, who will vote on this year’s recipient.

Past Winners Include:

2010 — Chris Gent, APR

2009 — Maureen Brockman

2008 — Susan Howard, APR

2007 — Danielle Saba Courtenay, APR

2006 — Jane Hames

2005 — Jim DeSimone

2004 — Ann Marie Varga

2003 — Susan Blexrud

2002 — Carol Brinati

2001 — Bette Jore, APR, ABC

2000 — Bill Warren, APR, CPRC

1999 — Nickie Sarner

1998 — Ron Pecora

1997 — Jan Donlan

1996 — Frank Stansberry, APR

1995 — Randy Berridge

1994 — John Rutherford

1993 — Carolyn Fennell

1992 — Todd Persons

1991 — Linda Costa, APR

1990 — Kay Bartholomew

1989 — Frank Hutsell and Karen Plunkett, APR

1988 — Bob Davis, APR, CPRC

1987 — Roger Pynn, APR

1986 — Truman “Duffy” Meyers

1985 — Holly Bennett Thatcher

1984 — Joe Curley, APR