Chapter Rewind: 2017 Image Awards

May 16, 2017

Orlando’s Public Relations Professionals Honored at Annual FPRA Image Awards Gala

By Zenaida Gonzalez Kotala

The Orlando chapter of FPRA honored some of the best and brightest public relations professionals in Central Florida this month at the 2017 Image Awards Gala at The Balcony Orlando in downtown.

The awards recognize those who develop public relations tools and campaigns that meet the highest standards of excellence and ethics and meet or exceed measurable goals. Winners are chosen by a group of public relations professionals in another chapter. This year, the Orlando chapter submissions were judged by members of the Capital Chapter in Tallahassee.

“The winners represent some of our most talented professionals and some of the most creative campaigns of the year,” said chapter president Alayna Curry, APR. “We are so proud of all our winners. And I would be remiss if I didn’t thank our wonderful event organizers and chapter board members, Judith Pariseau and Brittany Baron.”

The night’s Grand All Image Award went to the University of Central Florida for its campaign, UCF Stands for Science. Mark Schlueb and Zenaida Kotala, who work in the News & Information Office submitted their campaign that focused on promoting UCF’s extensive research and science work to the general public and scientific community.

The Grand Image Award for print tools and the Grand Image Award for visual tools went to MetroPlan. Mary Ann Horne, Cynthia Lambert, APR and Susan Ennis, APR, CPRC worked on the winning entries – the annual report “Plans, Progress. Action” and the redesign of the organizations website

Also honored for their PR tools or campaigns were professionals working for Orange County Government, Orange County Public Schools, Curley & Pynn, Kissimmee Utility Authority, Costa Communications, Orlando Health, Seminole Public Schools, Florida Municipal Power Agency, Orange County Animal Services and Orange County Utilities.

PR Professional of the Year Kena Lewis, APR was honored for her long and rich career that spans working in radio, cable and healthcare. She is Director of Public Affairs and Media Relations for Orlando Health. She led her communications team through the Pulse crisis and is a seasoned communications professional and an accredited public relations practitioner (APR) with a diverse background in news, public affairs, marketing and public relations.

Kissimmee Utility Authority is a proud sponsor of the FPRA Image Awards gala in Orlando.

Quotes Corner

May 16, 2017
Taylar Freitag

Taylar Freitag, President, Quotes UCF

Quotes Corner
By Taylar Freitag, President, Quotes UCF

It is at this time of the year we celebrate those who are moving onto the next phase of their lives. It’s important to us that our fellow classmates get the recognition they deserve. To ensure this, Quotes and Ad Club hosts an event called Senior Salute.

Last year was the first time the UCF Ad/PR program organized such an event. Having been a huge success, we did it again, but this time was different. We were fortunate enough to receive a sponsorship from our good friends at Orlando Health and we extended an invitation to Nicholson’s Radio/Television graduates.

In addition to acknowledging the achievements of our students, we like to recognize those that have lent a helping hand to the Nicholson School of Communication. This year, former instructor at UCF and retired director of public affairs at NASA, Lisa Malone, was recognized as our Corporate Champion. Malone played a major role in allowing Quotes to go on a behind-the-scenes tour of NASA and for her work with the first semester of students enrolled in our PR certification course. A well-known face, Jonathan Gabriel, was chosen for the Professional Partner award for his involvement in Quotes. Gabriel has played a vital role in connecting our club with the local FPRA chapter and, for that, we are eternally grateful.

It was a wonderful night of celebration, and we are thankful to Orlando Health for making it all possible. We appreciate all who attended and wish our graduates luck in their future endeavors.